The royal baby has been named.The new son of Prince William and Kate Dutchess of Cambridge will be known as Prince George Alexander Louis according to a tweet from #ClarenceHouse, their official home. The baby will be known as His Royal Highness Prince George of Cambridge.

July 24, 2013
Royal baby George Alexander Louis leaves the hospital (John Stillwell/WPA-Pool/Getty Images)

USA Today reports the baby is  named for his great,great grandfather George VI, the father of Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Phillip's uncle, Lord Louis Mountbatten. Mountbatten was the Duke of Edinburgh's uncle and the last British Viceroy of India before independence in 1947. William's father, Prince Charles, was close with Mountbatten, who was assassinated by the Irish Republican Army in 1979.

The name came relatively quickly by royal standards according to the New York Times, which notes that names for other royal babies have taken days and even weeks after their birth to be announced. The name was William and Kate's choice reports the Times. George was the name most were betting on to be the infant's name.

Other leading contenders: James, Alexander, Arthur, Louis and Henry according to CNN. Next milestone for the new born prince: a photographer for the baby's first official portrait.

Meeting The Family

Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge and Prince William, Duke of Cambridge depart The Lindo Wing with their newborn son at St Mary's Hospital ( Ben A. Pruchnie/Getty Images)

Earlier today Queen Elizabeth II met her great-grandson for the first time during a visit to Kensington Palace. She spent about a half-hour visiting the new Prince of Cambridge, her third great-grandchild. Prince William and his wife Kate then took the baby to visit his maternal grandparents outside London.



Palace officials say Prince Harry has also been to see his new nephew.

Georges Who Have Become King

Source: ITV

    • George I - ruled August 1714 to June 1727
    • George II - ruled June 1727 to October 1760
    • George III - ruled October 1760 to January 1820
    • George IV - ruled January 1820 to June 1830
    • George V - ruled May 1910 to January 1936
    • George VI - ruled December 1936 to February 1952