NJ Law Says You Can’t Pump Your Own Gas – Do You Agree?
We all know it's illegal to pump your own gas in New Jersey. Out-of-staters come here and find it strange, and many of us who live here still wonder why. Well, look no further for that answer!
The Retail Gasoline Dispensing Safety Act first came to light in 1949. Gas Stations need to have insurance for their company. Because they have trained employees pumping your gas, their insurance is lower. That makes gas prices lower by 5-7 cents per gallon. New Jersey is the ONLY state to have this law. Previously, Oregon had a similar law that they have now modified to allow pumping of gas. The reason NJ doesn't over turn the law is because of the jobs it has created. It costs no more to pay gas attendants than it would for gas prices to rise per gallon when law is overturned.
So, what's the penalty for pumping your own gas? $50.00- $250.00 for the first offense!!!!
We would rather just sit in the car and allow someone else to do it for us if that's the punishment! Plus who wants to pump their own gas in rain, sleet, hail, or snow? DEFINITELY not us!
How do you feel about this? Comment below or share on Facebook and tag us!
Also on Lite Rock:
This blog was written by Angelina Antenucci, a Summer 2018 Digital Intern at Townsquare Media South Jersey.